12 ways of Christmas: more meaning, less work and spending

5 thoughts on “12 ways of Christmas: more meaning, less work and spending”

  1. Thank you for your post. Every year about this time, I start feeling anxious. Anxious about having enough time for shopping, decorating, cooking, etc. I make a point to always talk about Christmas with my daughter, and to not leave Christ out. But what really bothers me is that I feel anxious at all…thanks for the reminder to keep it simple.
    I am a new follower, and I am interested in your work in Africa. My daughter and my sister sponser a child who lives in Swaziland. She has traveled there twice to spend time with her. Someday I would like to go as well.
    Thanks again.

    1. Hi! Thanks for your comment, I hope this Christmas you enjoy the peace that comes with a slow walk with Christ, rather than the hurried fuss everyone else is doing. Any questions you have for me about our work in Uganda, please don’t hesitate to contact me. tonya@kiraboseeds.com
      Blessings,
      Tonya

  2. Over the past several years my family has made a push to simplify our own Christmas and get back to its true meaning. This means less gifts, less fuss and a lot more quality time together as a family. I also can’t believe how much lowering the gift giving expectations has reduced stress and family arguments. You gave some really good ideas here that I’ll look forward to incorporating in our simple Christmas!

    1. Thanks Stephanie,
      It just floors me to learn that Americans spend 450 billion on Christmas every year. Why? I hope my kids grow up without great expectations for Christmas so Christ can remain in it. Cheers! Tonya

  3. I have been yearning for a simpler Christmas, but it is still a work in progress! This is my husband’s favorite holiday and both he and I always have people in mind who do not have family and our Christmas lists get longer each year! This Christmas we will be in Kenya and it is such a liberating feeling! Even my husband admitted it was nice not having to battle the crowds at the mall and to finally have a Christmas fully centered on a celebration of Christ’s birth (most of his family is not Christian, so their Christmas celebration tends to be pretty secular). And my oldest is not even fazed about not having presents for Christmas (the littles don’t yet know the difference)!

Leave a Reply

