Outrage in Uganda

26 thoughts on “Outrage in Uganda”

  1. Tonya,
    Just thinking of this makes me mad, but more important, I think, is what can we do? Let me know, I’ll talk to the other kids in Alpha and we’ll start to fundraiser more and everything.

    1. HI Andres, i know, it makes us all so furious. I will be in touch. I will come speak at Alpha when I return home and we can all decide together what to do. Prayers are so important and we can remember God said it is mine to revenge. I trust God to keep that promise. Tonya

  2. As a sponsor for 2 of the girls there, I am just sick about this. How could they take from those children and then profess to serve God?! Matthew 25:45 ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’

    Tonya, I’m sure you know that you have not only the power of almighty God on your side, but of an outraged group of Americans and Ugandans alike at the ready to be of service to you in getting this righted.

  3. I don’t even really know you but your work has been such an inspiration to me so this breaks my heart. It is also one of the fears I have about giving myself to service and mission in Uganda.
    I do not want that fear to keep me from following the plan God has for me. All I can do is pray for all of you.

    1. I am so glad I did not fear this outcome. I have many advisors and God shed the light on the darkness. I can’t share yet, for my safety, but I have BIG plans to fix this all. He picked the wrong mzungu to swindle. Tonya

    1. exodus 22:22-23 Do not take advantage of a widow or an orphan. If you do they cry out to me. I will certainly hear their cry. My anger will be aroused and I will kill you with the sword your voices will become widows and your children fatherless.

  4. Praying for you as you sort through this mess. But this will not lessen my commitment to these children and to your vision. God is in the business of making beauty from ashes. Wish I was with you. We are so proud of you and we know that God will carry you and restore you when this is over.

    1. Dr. Cindy, the children ask about you so much. Thanks for your commitment to these children. It’s going to be better soon. I am so protected by prayer and scripture and wise counsel. The good that is in me is greater than the evil that is in this world. Tonya

  5. How very, very sad……. pursue on – for the Lord & His children. May the Lord encourage your heart & show you the way. I’m praying for peace & wisdom & the ability to trust again. Oh, my heart breaks….. these things should not be!

    1. Thank you so much Bethany. I am so encouraged and strengthened by God’s word these days. I also have a strong team of advisors. God has a great power and He is working through me. I am not discouraged. A little angry, but I only seek justice for the children and hope to correct the abuse quickly. Tonya

  6. Praying for your courage and strength as you work through this mess. Sad for the children, but as Dr. Anthis said, it in no way affects how I will continue to help these sweet orphans! God speed!

    1. Thank you, it will work out well. I can promise that, just can’t say how. But I am going to need a LOT of help!!!

  7. Ah, Tonya, I am grieved for you. However, I must say, sadly, “welcome to Africa.” I have heard this too many times. In fact, just 2 Sundays ago listened to a new acquaintance tell of his long-standing ministry in Tanzania which has suffered from similar issues. An honest steward is difficult to find, as apparently it was in Jesus’ day. I suppose we can’t be surprised, since so many mzungus come in with good intentions and lots of $ and never return to really see if their money goes to where they planned. They just check their “good deed” box and move on. I know this red-headed mzungo will not be so easily thwarted, so I will pray for God to bring you to just the right person/couple and also that there will be a way to have the losses returned. If not, I’d hate to be in their way when the righteous hand of God, who holds widows and orphans so dear to his heart, shows them what they deserve. Our God will not be mocked. I will also pray for sincere repentence on Adams and Elitia’s part. Trust is not given but earned. Praying for you daily, often several times a day because God brings you to mind.

  8. Oh Tonya…with tears rolling down my cheeks…my heart breaks with this news. As I read this blog I kept hearing Phiona say TIA … This is Africa. This, however, puts a whole new spin on TIA, up close and personal! My prayers continue for your safety and continued perseverence. mom

  9. Oh tonya, how my heart breaks at this news! I dont understand how people can do things like this! My prayers are with all of you involved and for the children.. At least we have the promise that GOD works out all things for good for those who love HIM!

  10. I’m so saddened by this news. As I read your words I was hoping, almost desperately, that it would be revealed to be a misunderstanding. And as it became evident that it was not, God was clearly speaking that this is an attack by satan. The evil one wants this fail and he wants you (and all those that support you) to give up. But we won’t do that! Never have I felt more clearly the effects of spiritual warfare as I have while walking this road of adoption. While the children may never be adopted into our homes they have been adopted into our hearts and some powers don’t like this. Our God is faithful and our God is just. We will pray for supernatural protection and peace for you. Let us know if you need anything else.

  11. Tonya I am so very sorry that you are having to deal with such ugliness on a trip that was supposed to be about loving on your ugandan kids. My heart is breaking for the children and for you – I cannot imagine your hurt, dissapointment and sense of betrayal.

    I do not have any words of comfort – just know that I am praying that you would feel His peace and that the Lord would send you trustworthy stewards who would have the same love and compassion for these precious kids.

    Prayers for safety.

    Julia.

  12. I am sick reading this post. How could they even look you much less those children in the eye. We are low on financial resources right now, but I have lived following your journey and we will do whatever we can manage financially to make this right for those kids!!!

    My prayers for you, those children, and even Adams and Elitia are filling up my quote time right now.

  13. Tonya, this is heartbreaking to read. I’ll be lifting you and these precious children up in my prayers. May God give you strength, wisdom and discernment through the rest of this trip.

  14. Tonya: Tracey and I are so sorry to hear about what has happened. All we can think about is the children. It’s people like you and Craig that make this world a better place. I can’t imagine how many other good hearted and caring people were also scammed by these people. Their time will come. Just wanted to let you know that we’re here for you if you need anything. Take care.

    Rob F.

  15. I am so sorry, Tonya. Brad and I never felt right about Adams and Elitia. What you are doing with those children is WONDERFUL, and I know God will honor you and help you find more people like Phiona who are trustworthy and honest. I am sorry that I never said anything to you about our strong distrust for them… we feared we were being irrational and unkind, and since we had no confirmation, we wanted to stay out of it. Thank God that the truth comes out, and that He will help you know how to move forward with wisdom.

  16. Tonya,
    I am reading this in total shock and disbelief. We were with Rachel and Brad in Uganda. I met and hugged the children, how oh how can someone be so terrible to them. I don’t understand!
    God is doing house cleaning for you…he exposed the lies and rotten-ness that needed to go! Praying for you, your family and Phiona! I talk to her now and then on fb.
    What your doing is priceless! God will give you wisdom.
    Angie W.

Leave a Reply

