I struggle with adversity- because- I am American!

12 thoughts on “I struggle with adversity- because- I am American!”

  1. to give you another laugh after seeing her dark skin against mine, I asked Donny if he’d ever seen skin so dark and he quickly responded, yes on an avocado. Ha.

  2. oh my gosh tonya, that last photo of you and your girl is Amazing!!!! i haven’t read the blog yet but i couldn’t help but come and comment on the description of love that even a new born baby can tell. that confidence in eachothers arms is so real!!!

  3. I’ve not commented much this week, but I have been reading, and empathizing, and learning through your experiences and interesting/enlightening commentary. Praying for grace, peace and patience as your move takes place.

      1. We need to be in Santiago at the beginning of January for some final doctors’ visits and hope to fly to the States around the 17th … still waiting for clear direction on how we are supposed to wrap things up here in the meantime and keeping an eye on flights post-summer rush, so nothing is set in stone just yet. Limbo is not my favorite place to be, but it’s where He has us right now.

  4. Interesting that you also find ex-pats’ experiences so compelling. I am a Canadian in NY for 22 years and the blogs I most enjoy are: a Canadian woman in Spain; a South African woman in London, a Canadian man in Korea and, until recently, a Peace Corps volunteer in Armenia. Getting away from your own culture and into another’s really changes you; I spent my 26th year in France and that did it for me.

    Americans have no idea whatsoever how odd their vision of life is because so few of them ever travel to another country, and one whose culture and traditions remain so “stubbornly” different. I once heard someone complaining bitterly about a negotiation that was going very badly (a New Yorker) and when I found out the other person was Irish started to laugh. Two pretty different cultures — but it never even occurred to the American that this was a factor.

    1. HI Caitlin,
      I have found it a most interesting study: to see how flexible I can be in a foreign culture, how much of myself will I retain, and how much am I willing to blend in with the culture where I am the foreigner. The more I do it the better I get at it, the less stuff I need, and the more I appreciate other points of view on living life. I crave the fresh and strange. When we were living in Uganda for six weeks, again recently for three, and now that we are trying to purchase land to build a new place for the orphanage we support I am more face to face with my American ways than ever before. And I am more eager to change than ever as a result of seeing my impatience with process, my directness and my miserly ways with time. Jan Morris (welsh) said: “Americans in particular, who come from restless stock by the nature of things, seem to find themselves altogether at ease putting down roots, however transient, in foreign parts. It is part of their heritage, I suppose.They are settlers by inheritance and they are still particularly accomplished at making themselves homes away from home.” I know that’s true for me. I’m not so sure that is true for all of America today.
      I hope your are enjoying your expat life! When it was my turn, it changed the direction of my life drastically.
      Tonya LaTorre

  5. i loved this post. one day i so hope we can meet in person i think we would have so much to say to one another! 🙂 praying for you tonya and this week and all the emotions that will come along with it!

  6. I have just seen and talked to the jaja in the picture, she came to pick up her 2 grandsons from the school!
    Thinking about you at this time.God is in control and it is well!
    Love to all the LaTorres

  7. Love the quote in this blog. I find the observations and struggles so captivating and enlightening. Now I want to read the book. Yours of course. And I wouldn’t mind reading the one by Isabel excerpted here too.

Leave a Reply

